Man of Glass (ii)

kiss

he had no answer
for her question.
no, he had none.
“I’ve come to save you,”
she smiled,
a very wide smile,
indicating what she
was about say
should have been
common sense –
obvious.
still, he stood quiet
and numb.
“would you rather I walk
and leave you to suffer –
this ceaseless ache?”
string – she finally
stuck a cord.
ignoring the pain
in a deep husky
note he spoke,
“but, how?
how can you save me?
i am a man made glass
pain is not separate from me
this ache is who I am.
I have been boiled and bubbled,
cooled and simmered,
I was a molten liquid once,
molded into this mortal state.
having been
torched and toiled,
I have survived
for as long as I can –
not because I am weak.
no, you have to understand
i’d rather be pierced
a million times – and again
salvation is not what I seek.”

__________________To Be Continued__________________

If he seeks not salvation, what does he seek?

Let me know what you think!

Love,
Rose